SC asks Mudgal panel to expedite probe

New Delhi: Supreme Court today asked the Mudgal committee to expedite the probe into the IPL...... Read More >>

Mudgal report: Will CSK be banned?

New Delhi: The interim report on Indian Premier League (IPL) fixing case submitted by the Mukul...... Read More >>

When Modi turned teacher

PM takes class at music school   ...

Terror & talks can't go together: Rajnath to Pakistan

New Delhi: The Home Ministry today dismissed reports that Rajnath Singh has plans to meet his...... Read More >>

From Pakistan to Panickstan

Protestors take over State-owned TV channel ...



Victory margin just 3 per cent in 7 TN LS seats in 2009

Tuesday, 25 March 2014

Chennai: In the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, there were seven constituencies in Tamil Nadu where the elected candidates secured just three per cent more votes than their nearest rivals.

An official release said Sivaganga, Theni, Tiruchirapalli and Villupuram constituencies had less than one per cent victory margin, whereas Kancheepuram had less than two per cent victory margin. In Chennai North and Virudhunagar, margin of victory was less than three per cent.

Similarly, in Chennai North, TKS Elangovan of DMK got 2,81,055 votes while D Pandian got 2,61,902 and so the victory margin was 2.90 per cent.

Also, in Virudhunagar, victory margin was 2.05 per cent, where Manicka Tagore of Congress secured 3,07,187 votes and Vaiko of MDMK 2,91,423. Victory margin in Kancheepuram was 1.67 per cent as P Viswanathan of Congress got 3,30,237 votes and Dr E Ramakrishnan of ADMK polled 3,17,134 votes.

Likewise, victory margin in Theni was 0.79 per cent as JM Aaron Rashid of Congress and Thanga Tamilselvan of AIADMK got 3,40,575 and 33,4,273 votes respectively.

In Tiruchirapalli, the victory margin was 0.60 per cent. AIADMK's P Kumar got 2,98,710 votes and INC's Sarubala R Thondaiman got 2,94,375. Villupuram had the least victory margin of 0.35 per cent in which Anandan M of AIADMK got 3,06,826 votes while K Swamidurai of VCK got 3,04,029 votes.


Today's E-Paper