Markram named T20I skipper of SA

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has announced the squads for the upcoming white-ball series against West Indies, which includes three ODIs and five T20Is. The T20I team will be led by Aiden Markram, who takes over from Temba Bavuma, the former T20I captain. Markram has previous leadership experience, having captained South Africa at Under-19 level, as well as at provincial and franchise level. Bavuma, who recently stepped down from the role, will continue to be a part of the national team setup. Several notable selections have been made, including Bjorn Fortuin and all-rounder Sisanda Magala from DP World Lions, who have been included in both the T20I and ODI squads. Additionally, four uncapped players have been named in the ODI squad, including Gerald Coetzee from the ITEC Knights, Tony de Zorzi from Six Gun Grill Western Province, and Dafabet Warriors batter Tristan Stubbs. Ryan Rickelton, who was the leading run-scorer in the One-Day Cup, has also been included in the ODI squad. Several players have been rested for the first and second ODIs, including pace bowlers Anrich Nortje and Kagiso Rabada. Director of Cricket Enoch Nkwe expressed confidence in Markram’s appointment and praised Bavuma for his two years of service as T20I captain. Head coach Rob Walter spoke about the high confidence in the team following their recent win against England and expressed excitement about the new additions to the squad. He also praised Markram’s appointment as T20I captain, noting his familiarity with the team and leadership qualities.