Vijay Hazare Trophy: Mumbai restricts Delhi to 177

Chennai: Mumbai’s chances of lifting the Vijay Hazare trophy became bright as they restricted Delhi to 177 in 50 overs in the finals being played at Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Opting to bowl first on a wicket assisting pacers, Dhawal Kulkarni and Tushar Deshpande as usual came in handy and never allowed the Delhi batsmen to settle. Skipper Gautam Gambhir was dismissed for 1 in the very second over off the innings by Tushar Deshpande

Soon Unmukt Chand and Manan Sharma got out cheaply. Nitish Rana and Dhruv Shorey tried to settle the innings and slowly tried to settle by building a 39 run partnership. It was Shivam Dubey who soon dismissed Nitish Rana for 13.

Shorey then followed Rana after being dismissed off Sams Mulani for 31. L Himmat Singh and Pawan Negi settled the side. In the 33rd over bowled by Mulani, Negi, known for his attacking style of play, especially against spinners went after the lef-tarm bowler as he hammers for two boundaries and a six.

But his attacking play soon came to an end as he injured his finger and had to leave the field. Shivam Dubey and Kulkarni picked up the last two wickets and with Negi unable to retun back to bat, Delhi’s innings came to an end. Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dubey and senior-pro Dhawal Kulkarni. picked up eight wickets between them.

NT Bureau