Enemies’ dreams to split AIADMK shattered: TN CM

Coimbatore: The dreams of those who tried to split AIADMK and capture power have been shattered following the Madras High Court verdict upholding the disqualification of 18 MLAs, Tamilnadu Chief Minister K Palaniswami said Friday.

Both party founder, late M G Ramachandran and former chief minister J Jayalalithaa had launched various welfare schemes for the benefit of the people of Tamilnadu and worked for their upliftment, Palaniswami said at a function in the city.

In an apparent reference to Dhinakaran, Palaniswami alleged that after her death, “some betrayers” joined hands with the DMK to split the party and topple the government, by creating obstacles. However, with blessings of God and late Jayalalithaa, the “enemies” were given the right punishment for the betrayal and attempt to topple the government, he said.

“We will work hard to protect the organisation which was nurtured by two great souls,” Palaniswami said. Dhinakaran has denied that the verdict was a setback to his camp and termed it as an “experience.” The disqualified MLAs have decided to approach the Supreme Court against the High Court order.

In a huge relief to the AIADMK government, the High Court Thursday upheld the disqualification of its 18 rebel MLAs loyal to sidelined leader Dhinakaran by the Speaker. They were disqualified on 18 September last year by Speaker P Dhanapal under the anti-defection law after they met the governor and expressed loss of confidence in Chief Minister K Palaniswami.

An adverse judgement could have triggered a political realignment in Tamilnadu and brought the ruling party perilously close to losing majority in the the House whose effective strength is 232. Two seats are vacant. The disqualified MLAs are loyalists of Dhinakaran, who now heads the Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam, and deposed AIADMK leader V K Sasikala.

The opposition DMK has said it was not bothered about which faction of the AIADMK will benefit from the verdict but wanted elections to be held in all the 18 seats that fell vacant following the court order, besides two others.