Lok Sabha polls: DMK names seat-sharing committee

Chennai: A committee headed by party treasurer Duraimurugan has been set up by DMK to hold seat-sharing talks with allies, such as Congress, for the coming Lok Sabha elections, while the ruling AIADMK is yet to announce whether it would forge electoral ties with the BJP.

Apart from Duraimurugan, the panel would consist of five other leaders, including party organisation secretary R S Barathi and deputy general secretary I Periasami.

According to sources, to face polls under the leadership of party chief M K Stalin, the panel would facilitate strengthening ties with friendly parties and formally rein them in as allies .

Recently, DMK had said that only Congress and IUML were its allies and others including Vaiko-led MDMK and Viduthalai Chiruthailgal Katchi were friendly parties. CPI (M), CPI, MDMK and VCK are among the parties that are likely to strike a deal with the DMK.

Also the DMK has named an eight-member committee led by former Union Minister T R Baalu to draft the party’s election manifesto.

NT Bureau