TNCA First Division league: Suryapprakash ton gives Vijay CC lead

Chennai: Vijay CC opener L Suryapprakash struck a ton to guide his team to a 135-run first innings lead on the second day of the second round in the TNCA First Division League.

In the match at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Suryapprakash played a patient knock as Vijay reached 308 for three at stumps. The left-handed opener smashed eight boundaries during his 285-ball stay at the crease. A majority of his fours (seven out of the eight) came on the leg side, with him targeting the space in front of the wicket.

All MCC bowlers bar Gowtham Kannan conceded a boundary to the opening batsman. The Lyca Kovai Kings batter put on a 122-run opening stand with wicket-keeper N Jagadeesan. He then stitched a half-century partnership with M Shah Rukh Khan (41) for the second wicket.

Suryapprakash was finally trapped leg before wicket (LBW) in the fifth ball of the 97th over by S Suresh Kumar, going back to the pavilion at 272 for three.

In another encounter at the IC Guru Nanak College Ground, Abhishek Tanwar (5/43) picked up a five-wicket haul as Grand Slam bundled Nelson out for 151. Right-arm medium pacer Tanwar ran through the Nelson batting order, but conceded only 43 runs in total. Grand Slam got a first innings lead of 48, thanks to Tanwar’s second fifer of the season.

Brief scores: MCC 173 vs Vijay 308 for three in 105 overs (L Suryapprakash 109, N Jagadeesan 63, M Shah Rukh Khan 41, J Kousik 74*) Grand Slam 199 and 95 for three in 37 overs (V Ganga Sridhar Raju 56) vs Nelson 151 in 47 overs (K H Gopinath 28, Shoaib Md Khan 35, Abhishek Tanwar 5/43, M Raja 2/47, P Amarnath 2/29)

Jolly Rovers 352 in 110.5 overs (M Kaushik Gandhi 44, B Indrajith 34, R Sathish 86, L Kiran Akash 59, R Rajan 62*, Varun Sood 3/91, D Rahul 3/103) vs TI Cycles 197 for two in 67 overs (Adhithya Giridhar 115*, MUB Sriram 40)

CromBest 226 in 92 overs (Vignesh S Iyer 80, S Kishan Kumar 32, M Siddharth 5/56) vs Alwarpet 338 for five in 86 overs (Jiwan Jot Singh 96, R Kavin 35, K Vishal Vaidhya 46, Ashwin Venkataraman 49*, U Mukilesh 55*)

Globe Trotters 422 for 7 decl. in 146.4 overs (K Mukunth 46, C Hari Nishaanth 70, Sumant Jain 100, R Audhi Sachin 133, Monish Satish 58*) vs Young Stars 94 for two in 31 overs (R Sathyanarayan 39*, M Kamalesh 41*)

MRC 280 in 94.4 overs (R Srinivasan 129, R Ashwin 51, Adithya Arun 29, Ganapathi Chandrasekar, T Ajith Kumar 3/63, M Prabhu 2/59) vs India Pistons 159 for three in 83 overs (Maan K Bafna 62*, Rajat Paliwal 49)

NT Bureau