Karnataka Congress seeks disqualification of four rebel MLAs

Bengaluru: Congress Legislature Party leader and former Chief Minister Siddaramaiah met the Assembly Speaker Ramesh Kumar and gave him a letter along with supporting documents to disqualify four rebel MLAs under the Anti-Defection law.

The four MLAs, Ramesh Jarkiholi, Umesh Jadhav, Mahesh Kumathali and B Nagendra, have been charged with being defiant and for skipping the assembly session and legislature party meetings.

They had skipped the CLP meeting on 18 January and another meeting despite being issued a whip. They were also absent from the assembly since the budget session. Another Congress MLA J N Ganesh, who had allegedly assaulted fellow party member during a brawl at a resort recently, is absconding ever since. Two other independent MLAs have already announced withdrawal of their support to the Congress-JD(S) coalition government and have backed the BJP since.

The erring MLAs were even given repeated warnings to mend their ways and were also issued notices, seeking an explanation for their conduct, say reports. 

Congress state president Dinesh Gundu Rao, teeted, “@siddaramaiah and myself have petitioned the Hon’ble Speaker, to disqualify 4 of our MLAs under the rules of the anti-defection law. Despite repeated notices & issuing of whips they have been found to be in violation by their continued absence.”

Speaking about this turn of events, Siddaramaiah said several opportunity was given to the four rebel MLAs. “It is the unanimous decision of the CLP that I should go ahead with further action against them under the anti-defection law,” he said.

NT Bureau