Kerala civic by-polls: CPIM wins 16 of 30 seats, BJP fails miserably

Thiruvananthapuram: In the by-polls conducted for various local bodies across Kerala, the ruling CPI(M)-led LDF yesterday bagged 16 out of the 30 seats. The Congress-led UDF won 12 seats.

While the Revolutionary Marxist Party (RMP) retained the Onchiyam seat in Kozhikode, a Congress rebel retained the seat at Alappuzha district. But the BJP failed to win any seat. The bypoll was necessitated due to the death of RMP member A K Gopinath.

The CPI(M) were hoping to win the Onchiyam panchayat, however, RMP, founded by the late T P Chandrasekharan, won with a majority of 308 votes.

UDF lost five of its sitting seats in which four were won by the LDF and one by a Congress rebel. However, UDF won the five seats which were the sitting seats of ruling LDF.

The BJP were hoping to win the elections after the wide-spread Sabarimala protest. While the LDF government stood by the Supreme court verdict, the BJP launched massive and violent protests across the state over the issue.

NT Bureau