Loyola wins inter-college cricket tourney

Chennai: Loyola College defeated Guru Nanak College by eight wickets to bag the Pavit Singh Nayar Memorial Men’s Trophy at Guru Nanak College, here on Monday

In the final, Loyola, after winning the toss and opting to field, restricted the home side to 157 for seven in its 20 overs. The victor cruised home in the second innings, wrapping up the contest with 11 balls to spare after fifties from R Rajkumar (61) and D Sudhan (53*) that helped the team to go past the finish line, losing just two wickets.

In the women’s summit clash, Women’s Christian College beat Ethiraj by 72 runs. Ravichandran Ashwin was the chief guest for the final and he presented the awards to the winners. Speaking during the occasion, he said, “I request all the players here to pick yourself up and ensure that you make your state proud and one-day eventually try and play for the country as well since it’s going to benefit everyone. I say this today because of where we find ourselves as a cricketing state. In terms of the proud history, where we used to be the best in the country, we are not anywhere close to it currently. So it is my sincere obligation that I put in front of you to pick yourself up and work hard so that you can put Tamilnadu back to where it belongs in the cricketing map inside the country.”

Brief scores:

Final: Men: Guru Nanak College 157 for 7 in 20 overs (S Lokeshwar 53, M Siddharth 2/19, L Kiran Akash 2/25) lost to Loyola College 160 for 2 in 18.1 overs (R Rajkumar 61, D Sudhan 53*)

Women: Women’s Christian College 141 for 7 in 20 overs (Aswathi Shankar 74) beat Ethiraj College 69 for 7 in 20 overs (S Tharini 2/14)

NT Bureau