Former AIADMK CMs have contested Assembly elections from Theni


Chennai: Theni is seen as a constituency of importance, mostly because it is said that Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam’s son Raveendranath might be fielded from here.

Sources said Panneerselvam is keen on fielding his son from the constituency as many AIADMK leaders including former Chief Ministers M G Ramachandran and J Jayalalithaa had contested from here in the Assembly elections.

Theni Parliamentary constituency came into existence in 2008 after delimitation. The constituency comprises of Bodi, Cumbum, Periyakulam, Andipatti, Usilampatti and Sholavandhan Assembly constituencies.
AIADMK’s R Parthipan is the incumbent MP who succeeded J M Aaroon Rashid of INC in 2014.

As per the census of 2011, the district has a population of 1,245,899 with 52 per cent males and 48 per cent females. Over the last decade, the district had a population growth rate of 13.89 and a population density of 434 inhabitants per sq km. The sex ratio here is 991 females per 1,000 males.

NT Bureau