LS poll dates announced, TN to vote on 18 Apr

New Delhi: The 2019 general election will be held in seven phases, the Election Commission said today. There will be single phase polling in Tamilnadu on April 18.
The first phase of voting will take place on April 11 while the last phase will be held on May 19. The results of the election will be announced on May 23.
Following is the polling schedule:
Phase 1: April 11
Phase 2: April 18
Phase 3: April 23
Phase 4: April 29
Phase 5: May 6
Phase 6: May 12
Phase 7: May 19
At a press conference in New Delhi, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said that around 900 million — or 90 crore — people have been registered as voters for the 2019 general election. These include 1.5 crore new voters in the age group of 18 to 19.

NT Bureau