Chennai South: Most populous LS constituency

Chennai: The Chennai South constituency was created in 1957 through bifurcation of Madras Lok Sabha constituency and is said to be the most populous Lok Sabha constituency in South India.

T T Krishnamachari was the first MP from the constituency. It may be noted that C N Annadurai was the MP in 1967 and he resigned to become the Chief Minister of the State. He was succeeded by Murasoli Maaran.

AIADMK’s J Jayavardhan is the incumbent MP of the constituency. He is son of Fisheries Minister D Jayakumar. Prior to that AIADMK’s Chitlapakkam C Rajendran was the MP. Before that from 1996 to 2004, DMK’s T R Baalu was the MP.

According to Election Commission of India 2009 data, the total electorates in the constituency were 1,162,062 of which 577,630 are females and 584,432 are males.

The Assembly constituencies covered under Chennai South are Virugambakkam, Saidapet, Thiyagaraya Nagar, Mylapore, Velacheri and Sholinganallur.

NT Bureau