2019 general elections: Stalin says DMK ready with its list of contestants

CPI candidates calling on M K Stalin.

Chennai: DMK president M K Stalin today said the candidates list of the party is ready. Earlier in the day, CPI candidates M Selvaraj and Tirupur Subbarayan met Stalin and sought his wishes.

The Opposition DMK would field candidates in its traditional strongholds as the constituencies to be contested by it and other alliance partners were announced here Friday.

The DMK, which would be contesting 20 of the 39 Lok Sabha seats, would field its candidates in all the three parliamentary constituencies in Chennai — North, South and Central Chennai.

It would also contest in Kanchipuram (R), Vellore, Tiruvannamalai, Arakkonam, Sriperumbudur, Dharmapuri, Kallakurichi, Salem, Nilgiris (R), Pollachi, Dindigul, Cuddalore, Mayiladuthurai, Thanjavur, Thoothukudi, Tenkasi (R) and Tirunelveli.

DMK’s key ally, the Congress, which was allotted nine seats was given Tiruvallur, Karur, Krishnagiri, Sivaganga, Arni, Trichy, Theni, Virudhunagar, Kanyakumari, besides the lone seat in the Union Territory of Puducherry.

NT Bureau