AIADMK, DMK field 2014 contestants in Kanchipuram again

Chennai: Known as ‘Silk City’, Kanchipuram Lok Sabha constituency came into existence after 2008. Indian National Congress’ Perumal, Shri Viswanathan was the first MP of the constituency, he was succeeded by AIADMK’s Maragatham.

At present the constituency has 14,79,856 voters out of which 7,36,808 are men, 7,42,874 are women and 174 are transpersons.

In the past five years 1,39,473 new voters have enrolled in the voters list in which 58,031 are men and 81,442 are women.

The Assembly Constituencies that fall in Kanchipuram parliamentary constituency are Chengalpattu, Thiruporur, Cheyyur (SC), Maduranthakam (SC), Uthiramerur, Kanchipuram.

AIADMK and DMK will be in straight contest in Kanchipuram. AIADMK has once again fielded Maragatham and will take on last election runner DMK’s G Selvam.

NT Bureau