Owaisi, Revanth among early birds to launch campaign in Telangana

Hyderabad: AIMIM president Asaduddin Owaisi and Telangana Congress working President A Revanth Reddy are among the Lok Sabha candidates who have kicked off their campaign ahead of others in Telangana.

Owaisi, who is seeking re-election for a fourth consecutive term from Hyderabad, filed his nomination on Monday, the first day of nominations. He conducted a door-to-door campaign at Nawab Saheb Kunta on Monday.

“What can any politician/candidate say for this unconditional affection, love from people who I have never met – I have to work more hard to live upto the expectations of common people but I am certainly blessed Alhamdullilah,” he tweeted.

Congress has fielded Firoz Khan from Hyderabad to take on Owaisi. Khan had unsuccessfully contested in the Assembly polls in December. Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC) working president Revanth Reddy, known as a firebrand leader, kicked off his campaign on Sunday after visiting a temple. He is contesting from Malkajgiri here.

Reddy, who lost the Assembly polls in December from his traditional seat Kodangal, met key party leaders in Malkajgiri in the last few days, seeking their cooperation. He also reached out to CPI and Telangana Jana Samiti (TJS) to enlist their help. Reddy met CPI state secretary Chada Venkata Reddy at the here and also TJS president M Kodandaram. The CPI leader responded positively to Reddy’s request, while Kodandaram said he would consult the party’s local leaders. The CPI and TJS were alliance partners of Congress in the December 2018 Assembly elections.

TRS MP B Vinod Kumar is the first party candidate to file his nomination (from Karimnagar; on Monday). TRS president and Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao had kicked off the party’s campaign for Lok Sabha elections from Karimnagar. Kumar has also started his campaign. Among the major parties, Congress has declared candidates for 16 out of the total 17 seats in Telangana.

The TRS and BJP are yet to announce their candidates. Telangana goes to polls in the first phase on April 11.