Who will have upper hand in Coimbatore?

Chennai:  Coimbatore Lok Sabha constituency is located in the Kongu region of Tamilnadu.

AIADMK’s P Nagarajan is the incumbent MP of the constituency. He defeated BJP’s C P Radhakrishnan during the 2014 polls.

CPI (M)’s P R Natarajan from the DMK alliance has been announced as the candidate for the constituency.

BJP has been allotted the seat in the AIADMK alliance and it is said Radhakrishnan will be fielded from here.

It may be noted that Natarajan was elected as MP from the constituency in 2009. Similarly Radhakrishnan was elected twice in 1998 and 1999.

At present there are 19,31,558 voters in the constituency out of which 9,65,120 are men, 9,66,239 are women and 199 are transpersons.

Coimbatore Lok Sabha constituency is composed of the following Assembly segments – Coimbatore North, Coimbatore South, Kaundampalayam, Singanallur, Sulur and Palladam.

NT Bureau