2019 by-elections: AIADMK changes Periyakulam candidate

Chennai: In a surprise move, the AIADMK candidate for Periyakulam (Reserve), Murugan, has been replaced by M Mayilvel. It is one of the 18 constituencies going to polls in the by-elections to the Assembly on 18 April.

According to a press release from the AIADMK, Mayilvel has been selected as the official candidate for the Assembly constituency by the working committee of the party, in place of the candidate already announced.

It is said Murugan had been neglecting his constituency and staying in Chennai for the past few years. Also, the AIADMK cadres had wanted a strong candidate to fight the AMMK contestant, Kadhirkamu, and that was one of the reasons for the change of candidate.

NT Bureau