2019 polls: AIADMK gifts its stronghold Dindigul to PMK

Chennai:┬áThe Dindigul Lok Sabha seat was formed in 1952 and according to the 2011 census, the constituency has 21,60,000 voters. AIADMK’s M Udhaya Kumar is the incumbent MP and he defeated DMK’s Gandhirajan.

The constituency is historically important for AIADMK as this is where the party first contested in the Lok Sabha elections in 1973 in which K Maya Thevar emerged victorious. AIADMK has so far won seven elections in the constituency.

However, in this election, the constituency has been allotted to PMK in the AIADMK alliance. PMK has fielded K Jyothi from Dindigul against DMK’s P Velumani.

The Dindigul Lok Sabha constituency consists of Palani, Oddachatram, Athoor, Nilakottai, Natham and Dindigul Assembly constituencies.

NT Bureau