2019 general elections: Cong announces list for 9 constituencies

Chennai: The Congress is likely to announce the candidate for the Sivaganga constituency that has been allotted to it in the DMK alliance.

The national party has released the list for the other nine constituencies that it is contesting from.

The list:
Tiruvallur – K Jayakumar
Krishnagiri – A Chellakumar
Arani – Vishnuprasad
Karur – Jothimani
Tiruchi – S Thirunavukkarasar
Theni – E V K S Elangovan
Virudhunagar – Manik Thakur
Kanyakumari – H Vasanthakumar
Puducherry – Vaithilingam

The Congress and BJP are in straight contest in two constituencies: Kanyakumari, where Vasanthakumar is pitted against sitting MP and Union Minister Pon Radhakrishnan and in Sivaganga, where BJP leader H Raja will be facing a Congress nominee.

E V K S Elangovan had stated that the Sivaganga candidate would be announced by 10 am today but it is yet to happen. There is speculation that it might be announced by tonight.

NT Bureau