Forty teams set to compete in FMSCI INRC curtain-raiser

Chennai: The curtain goes up on the all-new FMSCI Indian National Rally Championship here on Saturday, with the Sprint de Bengaluru 2019. The new promoters, Champions Yacht Club, promise to lay out world class fare at each of the six rounds, bring international drivers and change the very face of motorsports in the country.

The two-day event here has attracted over 40 teams and will create a record straightaway, by introducing a separate class for ladies. They will be eligible for each of the categories in play, right from INRC, INRC 2, INRC 3, FMSCI 4WD and FMSCI 2WD.

The Sprint de Bengaluru 2019, organised under the aegis of the Karnataka Motor Sports Club (KMSC) will see the competitors vie for honours over six stages over the weekend. After many decades, Bengaluru will get to witness and enjoy night stages in an ambience that will seem like a carnival.

The teams will compete over 30 kilometres of Special Stages, after covering the liaison distance of 108 kms for the two night stages on Saturday. On Sunday, the four stages will take place in the morning.

NT Bureau