MPC to meet 6 times during 2019-20: RBI

Chennai: The Monetary Policy Committee (MPC), which decides on key interest rates, will meet six times during the next financial year, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has said.

The first meeting of the six-member MPC to decide on the first bi-monthly monetary policy statement for 2019-20 will be held from 2 to 4 April. The policy will be announced on 4 April.

Headed by RBI Governor Shaktikanta Das, the committee also includes two representatives from the central bank and three external members. The external members are Indian Statistical Institute professor Chetan Ghate, Delhi School of Economics Director Pami Dua and Indian Institute of Management-Ahmedabad professor Ravindra H Dholakia.

According to the schedule provided by the RBI, the second meeting of the MPC in the next fiscal will be held on 3, 4 and 6 June; third meeting (5-7 August); fourth meeting (1, 3 and 4 October); fifth meeting (3-5 December) and sixth meeting (4-6 February, 2020).

NT Bureau