Pollachi constituency: Will AIADMK strike hat-trick?

Chennai: DMK will be directly contesting in the Pollachi constituency after 39 years. INC won the first three consecutive elections in the constituency from 1951 to 1962 following which DMK won in four elections from 1967,1971, 1971(by-election) and in 1980.

After this AIADMK has won in the constituency seven times. In 1996 DMK’s alliance TMC and in 1999 and 2004 DMK’s alliance MDMK won the election here.

AIADMK has emerged victorious in the last two elections held in 2009 and 2014. AIADMK’s C Mahendran is the incumbent MP of the constituency. This is one of the constituencies in which AIADMK and DMK will have a head on collision this time. AIADMK has once again fielded C Mahendran from the constituency and DMK has nominated K Shanmugasundaram. The Lok Sabha constituency comrpises of Thondamuthur, Kinathukadavu, Pollachi, Valparai, Udumalaipettai and Madathukulam Assembly segments.

With DMK contesting in the constituency after several years and AIADMK looking for a hat-trick, the battle in this constituency will be keenly watched.

NT Bureau