2019 general elections: 845 candidates in fray in Tamilnadu

Satyabrata Sahoo

Chennai: A total of 845 candidates are in the fray for the 18 April Lok Sabha elections in Tamilnadu, after withdrawal of nominations ended Friday.

Also, 269 candidates are contesting the by-polls to the 18 Assembly seats, which will also be held simultaneously.
The final list of candidates was released by Tamilnadu Chief Electoral Officer Satyabrata Sahoo today.
Karur topped the list with 42 candidates while the Reserve Nilgiris constituency had just 10 contenders.
The AIADMK-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA), DMK-led Secular Progressive Alliance (SPA), Kamal Haasan’s Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM) and Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam floated by T T V Dhinakaran are the main contenders.
By-polls would be held in the 18 constituencies of Poonamallee, Perambur, Tiruporur, Sholinghur, Gudiyatham, Ambur, Hosur, Pappireddipapatti, Harur, Nilakkottai, Tiruvarur, Thanjavur, Manamadurai, Andipatti, Periyakulam, Sattur, Paramakudi and Vilathikulam.
Of the 18 seats, 16 had fallen vacant following the disqualification of ruling AIADMK MLAs owing allegiance to Dhinakaran.
The by-poll to Tiruvarur seat has been necessitated by the death of sitting member and late DMK patriarch M Karunanidhi while the Hosur seat fell vacant following the disqualification of minister K Balakrishna Reddy after his conviction by a court in over a decades-old criminal case.

NT Bureau