Know your constituency: Can AIADMK retain Madurai?

Chennai: 27 candidates will battle it out in the Madurai Lok Sabha constituency. AIADMK tasted its first victory in the constituency in 2014 in which R Gopalakrishnan¬†defeated DMK’s V Velusamy.

The Madurai Lok Sabha constituency comprises of the Madurai North, Madurai West, Madurai Central, Madurai East, Madurai South and Melur Assembly constituencies.

This time AIADMK has fielded VVR Raj Sathyan, CPI(M)’s S Venkatesan will contest on behalf of the DMK alliance. Congress has won seven elections in the constituency from 1952.

DMK and AIADMK has won once in 2009 and 2014 respectively. CPI(M) has won three times in 1967, 1999 and 2004.

NT Bureau