Nilgiris constituency: DMK, AIADMK fight to win Queen’s heart

Chennai:  A total of 10 candidates will be contesting in the Nilgiris (Queen of Hill Stations) Lok Sabha constituency.

The constituency has minimum number of candidates contesting in this Lok Sabha election from the State.

AIADMK, DMK, BSP, MNM and six Independent candidates will be battling it out here.

AIADMK’s C Gopalakrishnan is the incumbent MP of the constituency. However, this time, the AIADMK has fielded M Thiagarajan against DMK’s A Raja who lost the polls in 2014.

Raja was elected from the constituency as MP in 2009 after the constituency was reserved for Scheduled Castes.

Indian National Congress has won seven times here, BJP, AIADMK and DMK, twice each.

Nilgiris Lok Sabha constituency is composed of Mettupalayam, Avinashi, Bhavanisagar, Coonoor, Ootacamund and Gudalur Assembly segments.

NT Bureau