Know your constituency: Tiruchi – Here fight is between DMDK, Congress

Chennai: AIADMK has won three out of the last four elections held in Tiruchi constituency. AIADMK P Kumar is the incumbent MP of the constituency. He also emerged victorious in the 2009 election. Now the constituency has been allotted to AIADMK’s alliance party DMDK which has fielded V Elangovan.

The DMK has allotted the seat to Congress candidate S Thirunavukkarasar. Apart from this, MNM’s V Ananda Raja, AMMK’s Sarubala Thondaiman and NTK’s Vinodh are also in the fray.

The Tiruchi constituency has a total of 1,067,193 voters out of which 533,842 are females and 533,351 are males. It has a total of 1,067,193 electors and came into existence prior to the 1951 elections.

The Tiruchi Lok Sabha constituency is composed of Tiruchi (West), Tiruchi (East), Srirangam, Tiruverumbur, Pudukkottai and Gandarvakottai Assembly segments.

NT Bureau