EC to hold by-election to 4 Tamilnadu Assembly seats 19 May

Chennai: The Election Commission today announced by-election to four Assembly constituencies (Sulur, Ottapidaram, Aravakurichi and Tiruparankundram) 19 May.

Sulur MLA Kanakaraj passed away recently. While in the three remaining constituencies, all legal issues were cleared to hold the by-polls.

It may be recalled that the DMK Monday urged the Election Commission to hold by-polls to three Assembly seats (Ottapidaram, Aravakurichi and Tiruparankundram)) besides the 18 constituencies for which by-elections have been scheduled on 18 April alongside the Lok Sabha polls in Tamilnadu.

At a meeting of its district secretaries, MPs, and MLAs here, the main Opposition party adopted a resolution which said not holding by-polls to the three Assembly constituencies was anti-democratic.

Tamilnadu Chief Electoral Officer Satyabrata Sahoo had said by-polls were not scheduled for Tiruparankundram, Ottapidaram and Aravakurichi constituencies since election petitions were pending in the Madras High Court.

Now that the legal hurdles have been cleared, the EC has announced elections 19 May.