Know your constituency: Sivaganga – Congress, BJP in straight fight

Chennai: The Sivaganga Lok Sabha constituency was formed after the delimitation in 2008.

This constituency is seen as a fort for Indian National Congress as the party’s senior leader P Chidambaram has won the seat seven times. This time the party has fielded the veteran leader’s son Karti P Chidambaram as Lok Sabha candidate.

Karti had already contested from the seat in 2014 polls and had lost it to AIADMK MP P R Senthilnathan.

BJP’s H Raja has been fielded in the AIADMK alliance from the seat this time.

There are 15,29,698 voters in the constituency, out of which 7,56,734 are men, 7,72,905 are women and 59 are transgenders. The Sivaganga Lok Sabha constituency comprises of Thirumayam, Tiruppattur, Karaikudi, Alangudi, Manamadurai and Sivaganga Assembly segments.

NT Bureau