Erode constituency: Will AIADMK retain or MDMK make a comeback?

Chennai: The Erode Lok Sabha Constituency is the only seat from which the MDMK is contesting in the DMK alliance.

MDMK’s A Ganesha Murthi won the first Lok Sabha election in the seat in 2009 and has been fielded again. He was the runner up in the 2014 election in which AIADMK’s Selvakumar Chinnayan won and is the incumbent MP. Now the AIADMK has fielded G Manimaran.

The seat which was formed after the 2009 delimitation has 14,62,076 voters at present out of which 7,07,239 are men, 7,36,657 are women and 108 are transpersons. The constituency will have 1,678 polling station in 646 locations.

The Erode Lok Sabha constituency comprises of the Kumarapalayam, Erode (East), Erode (West), Modakurichi, Dharapuram and Kangayam Assembly segments.

NT Bureau