DMK names co-ordinators for by-elections

Chennai: DMK today announced its election co-ordinators for the by-elections that is set to take place 19 May in four Assembly constituencies in the State.

The in-charges were announced by party general secretary K Anbazhagan. They are Periyasamy and Manimaran (Thiruparankundram), K N Nehru, Kanimozhi and Anitha Radhakrishnan (Ottapidaram), K Ponmudi and Senthil Balaji (Aravakurichi). For Sulur, the members are yet to be announced.

The Election Commission had already announced that the filing of nominations will begin 22 April and last date for withdrawal of nominations is 2 May.

Once all by-elections are held and results are announced, the ruling party must have at least 118 MLAs including the Speaker in the Assembly for a majority.

NT Bureau