LS Polls: All arrangements in place at 71 constituencies for fourth phase

New Delhi: Elaborate arrangements are being made for the smooth conduct of the fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections tomorrow. Security has been beefed up in all the 71 constituencies spread over nine States going to the polls in this phase.

Voting will take place in 17 Parliamentary seats in Maharashtra, 13 each in Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh, eight in West Bengal, six each in Madhya Pradesh and Odisha; five in Bihar; and three in Jharkhand in this phase. Kulgam District of Anantnag constituency will also go to the polls.

Campaigning for this phase ended last evening. In Bihar, polling will take place in five constituencies Darbhanga, Ujjiarpur, Samastipur, Begusarai and Munger. According to reports from Patna, the political fortune of 66 candidates including three women will be decided by over 87 lakh 74 thousand electorates.

In Odisha, a presiding officer died after reaching his designated polling station under Nilagiri assembly segment in Balasore district yesterday. Balasore district assistant collector Rakesh Panda said Purna Chandra Panda who was deputed as the presiding officer at polling station no 28 suddenly became ill was rushed to Balasore district headquarters hospital where doctor declared him dead.

In West Bengal, re-polling will take place at three booths in Raigunj Parliamentary constituency tomorrow. Polling was held in Raigunj in the second phase of Lok Sabha polls on the 18th of this month.

Opposition parties had demanded re-polling at different booths, following allegations of irregularities. Leaders of various political parties made last-ditch efforts yesterday, as it was the last day of campaigning for the fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections to woo the voters in favour of their party candidates.

Senior BJP leader and Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah, Congress president Rahul Gandhi and BSP chief Mayawati among others, addressed rallies at various places.

Addressing a public meeting at Kannauj in Uttar Pradesh, Prime Minister Modi said, the NDA government introduced several beneficial schemes. He also said that BJP will not compromise with terrorism and will fight for national security. Rahul Gandhi campaigned at Raebareli and Amethi.

NT Bureau