2019 by-polls: Kamal announces MNM candidates for 4 assembly seats

Chennai: Actor-cum-politician Kamal Haasan, the founder of Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM) yesterday announced his party’s candidates to the four Assembly seats for the 19 may by-elections in Tamilnadu.

A day ahead of the last date for filing nominations, Kamal announced the names of the four candidates to Sulur, Aravakurichi, Thirupprankundram and Ottapidaram constituencies.

P Shaktivel, G Mayilsami and S Mohanraj would contest from the Thiruprankundram, Sulur and Aravakurichi Assembly, seats respectively, said Kamal in his statement.

He also added that M Gandhi has been fielded from Ottapidaram, which is a reserved constituency. The ruling party in the State, AIADMK and the opposition DMK and Naam Tamizhar Katchi had nominated their candidates earlier.

NT Bureau