All India YSCA cricket tourney begins 1 May

Chennai: The 50th edition of the All India YSCA trophy will begin from 1 May, with 54 teams set to feature this year.

The tournament will be inaugurated by former India cricketer VV Kumar and the first match will be played between YSCA ‘A’ and ICI RC.

The tournament will be played on a knockout-cum-super league format where until the quarter-finals, the teams will play knockouts. In the quarterfinals, the teams will be divided into two groups and play in the super league. At the conclusion of the league, top two from each zone will play in the criss-cross semi-final.

Speaking during the inauguration of the tournament, organising secretary, YSCA, M S Gurumuthy said “This is the only tournament in India which is being conducted 50 years without break. This year a club team from New Zealand has also expressed its willingness to participate in the tournament. We are waiting for permission from the BCCI and once we get it we will invite that team also.”

Defending champions Indian Oil Corporation from Mumbai along with other teams like Athreya CA (Thrissur), Central Excise, AGS office and many other lower division teams and prominent colleges like Loyola, Guru Nanak and RKM Vivekanand are participation in the tournament.

The final would be played at the MA Chidambaram stadium on 16 June. The winners will get a cash prize of Rs 25,000 while the runners-up will receive Rs 15,000. The web coverage of the tournament will be available on

NT Bureau