Juneja’s 150 leads Alwarpet into final

Chennai: Captain Manprit Juneja (157 not out) led from the front as Alwarpet advanced to the final of the TNCA First Division League. Alwarpet got the better of Grand Slam by taking an important first innings lead at the SSN College Ground here on Saturday.

When Alwarpet lost its ninth wicket, it had only 264 on the board, 34 behind Grand Slam’s total. But, Juneja and number eleven batsman RS Jaganath Sinivas (26 not out) struck an unbroken match-winning partnership of 44 for the last wicket to propel their side to the summit clash.

In the other last four match, Jolly Rovers (388) cruised past Vijay (112), thanks to a mammoth first innings lead. Left-arm spinner DT Chandrasekar (4/40) was the pick of the bowlers for the victor, taking four valuable wickets.

Brief scores: Jolly Rovers 388 drew with Vijay 112 in 55 overs (KB Arun Karthick 26, Abhinav Mukund 27, DT Chandrasekar 4/40, R Jesuraj 2/45, NS Harish 2/11)

Grand Slam 298 drew with Alwarpet 308 for 9 decl. in 91 overs (Jiwan Jot Singh 60, Manprit Juneja 157*, RS Jaganath Sinivas 26*, Abhishek Tanwar 3/71, P Amarnath 2/49, M Abhinav 2/69)

NT Bureau