New federation formed at Valasaravakkam to represent local issues

Members from various associations gathered together to form a federation at Valasaravakkam.

Chennai: Understanding that unity is strength to address civic issues, Federation of Valasaravakkam Civic Welfare Associations (FVCWA) was formed 5 May, by amalgamating all welfare associations operating at Valasaravakkam, comprising wards 149 and 152. Office-bearers were also elected.

Speaking to News Today, federation president S Ganapathy said the main aim behind the formation of the organisation was to unitedly bring about changes the residents seek at Valasaravakkam. Around 30 associations have joined together to form the federation, he said.

Federation general secretary S Periasamy said instead of each association representing their grievances separately, we can jot down the issues of the whole area and represent it collectively which will be easy for the civic body to redress on a priority basis and it saves time.

Asked how they got the idea, Ganapathy said originally their association fought against the sudden, steep hike in property tax but it was not given much attention by the local administration.

“This made me think why not we ask all the associations to represent this matter and we put a word to almost all the associations at Valasaravakkam who willingly gave their nod to the issue and unitedly we escalated the matter to even Prime Minister Narendra Modi and filed a case which is still pending,” he said.

The federation has decided to work ceaselessly for the overall development of wards 149 and 152 in Zone 11, Valasaravakkam. It will be functioning from 180, Brahmaputra Street, Palaniappa Nagar, Valasaravakkam, and can be reached at 73587 68630.

New team
Elections for new office-bearers were conducted by election officers Jagannathan and Hariharan.

The team includes:
S Ganapathy – president
C K Mohanasamy, S Nagarajan and Raghunathan – vice-presidents
S Periasamy – general secretary
K Bhaskaran, E Money and
G Ravishankar – joint secretaries
Vignesh Kumar R Vyas – treasurer


Chitralekha Vanamamalai