2019 By-poll: EPS to continue as TN CM as AIADMK leads in 11 out of 22 seats

Chennai: While Lok Sabha election result trends were one-sided in Tamilnadu, the Assembly by-poll threw a surprise as AIADMK led in 11 out of 22 seats by slim margins and looks set attain simple majority to stay in power and thwart DMK’s plans to form government here.

In the Tamilnadu context, the Assembly by-poll results are more awaited than Lok Sabha results as the survival of AIADMK government depends on it winning at least five more seats to cross the simple majority mark in the 234-member Assembly.

The strength of AIADMK in the Assembly had come down to 113 after the disqualification of 18 rebel MLAs owing allegiance to AMMK founder TV Dhinakaran.

Today, out of the 22 Assembly constituencies that saw by-polls, the ruling AIADMK and opposition DMK were neck and neck leading in 11 seats each as per trends available after the three rounds of counting.

The DMK, which has a combined strength of 97 MLAs in the House (DMK-88, Congress-8 and IUML-1), led in Thiruvarur, Thiruporur, Thiruparankundram, Thanjavur, Poonamallee, Periyakulam, Perambur, Paramakudi, Ambur, Gudiyattam, Ottapidaram

However, AIADMK managed to hold slender leads in Vilathikulam, Sulur, Sholingur, Sattur, Andipatti, Harur, Hosur, Manamadurai, Nilakkottai, Pappireddippatti constituencies up until second round counting. The leads started to increase in the third round

AMMK headquarters

The AMMK and Kamal Haasan’s MNM facing elections for the first time registered paltry vote percentage and so was Seeman’s Naam Thamizhar Katchi.

MNM even failed to capture respectable vote share in Aravakurichi constituency which created a national stir when its party president Kamal Haasan made a remark on Nathuram Godse that drew a rare response from even the Prime Minister Modi.

Makkal Needhi Maiam office

The Aravakurichi constituency was also much discussed today as the Election Commission website failed to show its trends starting from the morning, even though other constituencies were displayed and updated regularly.

Nilakkottai and Paramakudi saw tough competition that can swing either way. AIDMK candidates Thenmozhi S (Nilakkottai) and Sathan Prabhakar (Paramakudi) are leading with less than 1000 vote margin in their respective constituencies.

NT Bureau