2019 general elections: DMK’s A Raja wins from Nilgiris constituency

Nilgiris: DMK candidate Andimuthu Raja has won from the Nilgiris constituency, competing against AIADMK candidate M Thiagarajan.

Raja won the 2009 elections in Nilgiris and in 2014, he lost the election to Gopalakrishnan in the same constituency.

In the 2019 elections, instead of Gopalakrishnan, it was Thiagarajan who contested against Raja.

Various issues including, lack of basic amenities for the tribal people of the constituency and poor agricultural facilities might have been the reason behind AIADMK’s loss in the Nilgiris.

NT Bureau