2019 LS polls: BJP set to make a clean sweep in Karnataka

Chennai: Current trends indicate BJP would make a clean sweep in Karnataka as it is leading in 23 Lok Sabha constituencies. While the coalition partners – Congress and the JD(S) – are leading in four, in Mandya it is a neck to neck contest.

According to current trends, BJP candidate Tejaswi Surya (Bangalore South) is leading with more than one lakh votes against Congress leader Hariprasad. Rizwan Arshad is leading over P C Mohan (Bangalore Central) by over 25,000 votes. Meanwhile, Sadananda Gowda (Bangalore North) is leading with over 25,000 votes.

Actor-turned politician Prakash Raj is contesting as an independent candidate from the Bangalore Central constituency, and trends indicate that he is set to lose.

In Mandya, independent candidate Sumalatha Ambareesh and JD(S) candidate Nikhil Kumaeaswamy are pitted against each other and are neck-to-neck in the race.

NT Bureau