Three TN women MPs will also represent their ilk in Parliament

Chennai: Tamilnadu had 64 women candidates contesting in the Lok Sabha elections and people have chosen three among them to be sent to Parliament – one less than during the last parliamentary elections.

The three women MPs are:

Kanimozhi – Thoothukudi – DMK

Kanimozhi, a two-time Rajya Sabha MP, is the daughter of DMK supremo M Karunanidhi. She contested from Thoothukudi and won with a margin of 3,47,209 votes against BJP’s Tamilisai Soundararajan. She is also the secretary of the DMK’s Women’s Wing.

Thamizhachi Thangapandian – Chennai South – DMK

Thamizhachi Thangapandian (a) Sumathy contested and won from Chennai South against AIADMK Minister D Jayakumar’s son J Jayavardhan with a margin of over 2 lakh votes. She is a writer, poet, and academician. Her brother, Thangam Thennarasu, was the School Education Minister of Tamilnadu from 2006 to 2011.

Jothimani S – Karur – Congress

Jothimani Sennimalai (44) entered politics at 22 and was the general secretary of Indian Youth Congress. This is her first electoral victory. She defeated AIADMK’s M Thambidurai with a margin of over 4 lakh votes. She earlier contested and lost the Assembly election 2011 and general election 2014 from Karur constituency.

NT Bureau