CM Palaniswami, Panneerselvam to attend Modi swearing-in ceremony

Chennai: Tamilnadu Chief Minister and co-coordinator of the AIADMK, Edappadi K Palaniswami, Deputy Chief Minister and co-ordinator of AIADMK, O Panneerselvam, will be attending the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister-elect Narendra Modi 30 May 7 pm.

The BJP and AIADMK tied up for the 2019 general elections and roped in other parties for the electoral battle. The BJP contested in five seats as part of the NDA and lost in all five. BJP’s Tamilnadu unit president Tamilisai Soundararajan also faced defeat at Thoothukudi.

The massive DMK wave drowned the lotus (the BJP symbol) in Tamilnadu. But the BJP managed to do well in other states (except Kerala) and has sailed home with 303 seats on its won in the 17th Parliament.

Modi is being sworn in Thursday evening.

NT Bureau