17th LS session begins: Virendra Kumar sworn in pro tem Speaker

Virendra Kumar being congratulated by Kovind

Chennai: Bharatiya Janata Party Member of Parliament Virendra Kumar,  who was returned from Digamhar constituency in Madhya Pradesh for the seventh time, was today sworn in as the pro tem Speaker.

President Ram Nath Kovind did the honours of swearing in the pro tem Speaker this morning in the presence of Vice-President Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and other officials.

The pro tem Speaker then proceeded to Parliament as the first session of the 17th Lok Sabha began this morning.

The first day of the session which lasts till July 26 began with the MPs taking the oath. The ball was set rolling with Prime Minister Modi taking oath as MP to the thumping of desk by the treasury benches.

After signing in the register, Modi shook hands with Virendra Kumar and greeted the other MPs with folded hands.

Virendra Kumar was earlier a Minister of State in the first ministry of Modi. As pro tem Speaker, he will administer oath to all the members who have been elected to the Lok Sabha. Then he will oversee the election – if necessary – to the post of Speaker.

NT Bureau