AIADMK announces 209-strong team to oversee Vellore parliamentary poll

Chennai: AIADMK co-ordinator and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam and party co-coordinator and Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami have announced a 209-strong panel to oversee the Vellore parliamentary poll.

Reports state that ministers K A Sengottaiyan, K P Munuswamy and Dindigul Sreenivasan have been given important roles.

The April MP election to Vellore constituency was countermanded after the recovery of huge amounts of money, allegedly meant for distribution to voters. The Election Commission took the action against DMK candidate Kathir Anand, son of DMK treasurer Durai Murugan, against whom a case was filed.

With the Election Commission announced 4 July that the Vellore Lok Sabha poll will be conducted 5 August, the parties nominated the same candidates for the contest: Kathir Anand (DMK) and A C Shanmugam (AIADMK alliance).

T T V Dhinakaran’s Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam opted out of the election as also Kamal Haasan’s Makkal Needhi Maiam.

NT Bureau