Sanjay Yadav & Sathish help Kanchi win

Chennai: VB Kanchi Veerans bounced back in the ongoing Tamilnadu Premier League with a massive 110-run victory over iDream Karaikudi Kaalai at the NPR College ground, Dindigul, Wednesday.

Experienced hands Sanjay Yadav and Rajagopal Sathish were the architects of VBKV’s win.

The 24-year-old Yadav, who was signed up by Kolkata Knight Riders in 2017, unleashed a power-packed 95 off 60 balls, laden with seven fours and six sixes, as VBKV powered to 177-4 in 20 overs. In reply, iDKK were skittled for 67 all out in 14.4 overs. It was iDKK’s lowest score of the league with their previous lowest being 110-9 against Chepauk Super Gillies in 2017.

Yadav (1-6) also picked a wicket with his left-arm spin to cap a memorable day.

R Sathish, who had earlier turned in a 31-run cameo, pulled the rug from under the rivals’ feat with a double strike in his first over, that also saw a needless run out of Maan K Bafna (0). The 38-year-old medium pacer claimed two more wickets to finish with his best analysis (4-0-17-4) in the league. It bettered his 3-17 for Chepauk Super Gillies against VB Thiravallur Veerans in 2017.

Medium-pacer Gautam Thamarai Kannan (2-17) dealt the first blow when he claimed iDKK captain Anirudha Srikkanth (0) with his first ball, the batsman inside-edging a pull onto his stumps.

Thereafter, the innings failed to take off as iDKK kept losing wickets with only three batsmen reaching double figures.It was an amazing comeback by VB Kanchi Veerans after losing the first match against Lyca Kovai Kings by eight wickets.

Both teams head to ICL-Sankar Nagar ground, Tirunelveli for their next round of matches. iDream Karaikudi Kaalai run into Chepauk Super Gillies on Friday (26 July ) while VB Kanchi Veerans face defending champions Siechem Madurai Panthers on Sunday (28 July).

Biggest victory margins (runs) in TNPL

137 runs, Tuti Patriots beat Madura Super Giants in 2017
122 runs, Tuti Patriots beat Chepauk Super Gillies in 2016
110 runs, VB Kanchi Veerans beat iDream Karaikudi Kaalai in 2019


NT Bureau