Karnataka CM Yediyurappa wins trust vote

Bengaluru: Seeking to prove majority of his government in the Karnataka State Assembly, Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa today moved a confidence motion and won it by a voice vote smoothly.

A media report said the numbers were in favour of the three-days-old BJP government. The Congress and JD(S) did not press for division on the motion, and Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar declared that the motion had been passed by a voice vote.

Post disqualification of 14 MLAs yesterday, the total strength of the Karnataka assembly is now 208, including the Speaker and nominated member.

On 27 July, Yediyurappa took oath as Chief Minister of the State. Yediyurappa took the oath succeeding HD Kumaraswamy, three days after the Congress-JDS coalition government crumbled.

The Congress has 66 members, JDS 34, the Speaker one and one expelled BSP member.

NT Bureau