DCP gives prizes to winners of ‘Thirukkural’ contest held in Chennai

Deputy Commissioner of Police (Intelligence Section), Chennai, R Thirunavukkarasu gave away prizes to winners of Thirukkural contest held in Chennai recently. Shriram Chits Tamilnadu (P) Ltd chairman P Saravanakumar and PRO George Stephen are present.

Chennai: “My favourite couplet in Thirukkural is ‘Arivu Aatrang Kaakkum Karuvi’ meaning, the best available weapon is knowledge. Students should inculcate the habit of reading lot of books to enrich their knowledge,” said Deputy Commissioner of Police (Intelligence Section), Chennai, R Thirunavukkarasu.

Distributing prizes to the winners of Thirukkural contest held in city, organised by Shriram IIakkiya Kazhagam recently, he said, “Victory in war does not matter. The key is to fight. Similarly for students participation in competitions is all the more important. Parents and teachers play a very important role in preparing students for such competitions and so they need to be thanked for the efforts taken. Having knowledge in Thirukkural will enable students to score high marks, win competitions and it will bring success in life.”

The Chennai zone competition was conducted at Dr MGR-Janaki College for Women, Raja Annamalaipuram, 27 July, where 1,104 students participated.

The contests at other centers will be held on the following dates – Madurai 3rd August, Nellai 4 August, Thiruvarur 10 August, Tiruchi 11 August, Coimbatore 17 August, Erode 18 August, Salem 24 August and Vellore 25 August.

Shriram Chits Tamilnadu (P) Ltd PRO George Stephen welcomed the gathering. Shriram Chits Tamilnadu (P) Ltd chairman P Sravanakumar and Dr MGR Janaki College for Women chairman Kumar Rajendran participated.

First in elocution contest
Junior – B Tameena Tasbiga, Velammal MHSS, Mogappair
Senior – P Tamilmozhi, Velammal MHSS, Mogappair
College – T Balaji, Loyola College, Chennai


First in drawing contest
Junior – J Darshini, Sri Vimala Vidhyalaya School
Senior – K Sanjai Raj, Nathella Vidyodaya School
College – K Muthukumarasamy, MNM Jain Engineering College


NT Bureau