Siva helps Tuti defeat Karaikudi

Dindigul: Tuti Patriots rode on their captain V Subramania Siva’s best knock in theTamil Nadu Premier League to register a 57-run victory over iDream Karaikudi Kaalai at the NPR College ground here on Thursday.

It was TP’s second win in five matches, which keeps them in contention for a playoff spot. iDKK’s aspirations, however, hangs by a thread after crashing to their fourth defeat on the trot.

Siva, who had dropped down the order after a poor run in the last two matches, smashed 87 not out off just 40 balls (10 fours, 5 sixes) to power TP to a strong total of 175-4 in 20 overs. His bowlers then restricted iDKK for 118-8 in 20 overs.

Siva’s unbeaten innings was also his best in the league improving upon his 84 not out for Dindigul Dragons against Madurai Super Giants in 2016, which came at the same ground.

The 35-year-old captain’s brilliance helped TP collect 113 runs in the last 10 overs after they struggled to 62-4 in the first half. He was also involved in a 113-run unbroken alliance off 59 balls with A Venkatesh (30 not out off 26 balls, 3 fours).
Siva went berserk in the 19th over bowled by fast bowler Sunil Sam, carting three sixes and two boundaries. It was the most expensive over of the season with 28 runs coming off it. It was also the second most expensive over in TNPL history behind iDKK left-arm spinner S Mohan Prasath’s 32 runs conceded against Dindigul Dragons in his last over (4-0-50-0) in Tirunelveli last year.

iDKK hopes dashed with their top batsman out in the third over as they struggled to 22-2 at the Powerplay.
Leg-spinner A Venkatesh returned to torment iDKK by claiming two wickets. The medium-pace of Sivagnanan Senthilnathan created a bigger impression by claiming two wickets for 20 runs in his four overs.

iDream Karaikudi Kaalai play their next match against Lyca Kovai Kings at the MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai on Sunday (4 August) while Tuti Patriots stay put here to face Ruby Trichy Warriors on Tuesday (6 August ).

Brief scores: Tuti Patriots 175-4 in 20 overs (Nidhish Rajagopal 34, A Venkatesh 30 not out, V Subramania Siva 87 not out; Ashwath Mukunthan 1-25, S Kishan Kumar 1-15) beat iDream Karaikudi Kaalai 118-8 in 20 overs(Laxmesha Surya Prakash 31, Rajhamany Srinivasan 21, RD Ashwin Kumar 30 not out; Tamil Kumaran 2-31, Sivagnanan Senthilnathan 2-20, A Venkatesh 2-29).

NT Bureau