Naveen scores unbeaten century in Thiruvallur division league

Chennai: Captain G Naveen Kumar (103 not out) smashed an unbeaten hundred as Classic Cricket Club defeated Wheels India Recreation Club by six wickets in the TNCA Thiruvallur DCA Second Division League Championship match.

Batting first, Wheels India made 208 for five, riding on a fantastic 105 not out from B Mathan Kumar. The southpaw struck 12 boundaries and a solitary maximum in the first innings. But his effort went in vain, with Naveen stealing the show. In the chase, the skipper hit 11 fours and seven sixes in his 52-ball knock to take Classic home.

Brief scores: II Division: Wheels India RC 208 for 5 in 30 overs (B Mathan Kumar 105*, J Sathish 34) lost to Classic CC 210 for 4 in 28.3 overs (G Naveen Kumar 103*, KV Udhaya Kumar 39, JB Ajith Kumar 32);

Sundar CC 106 in 23.3 overs (Abhinav B Davey 4/33) lost to Ebenezer CA 107 for 5 in 15.5 overs (S Mohan Raj 32, K Kanibalan 26, Krishnakanth Kumar 3/23);

III Division: WABCO Ind RC 160 in 30 overs (AS Surya Prakash 36, A Sai Krishna 4/49, Sachin Sudhakaran 3/27) beat Aththis CC 159 in 29.4 overs (K Nirmal Kumar 43, C Dilli Babu 39, N Nivedha 4/40, N Senthil 5/18);

Parthasarathy MCC 125 for 7 in 30 overs (V Hemanth Ram 37*, B Barath 4/26) lost to United CC 126 for 5 in 22.1 overs (E Surender 66*).

NT Bureau