TN govt announces 100% tax exemption to EVs; CM releases new policy

Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami launching Electric Vehicle Policy in Chennai today.

Chennai: The State government has announced 100 per cent motor vehicle tax exemption for all electric vehicles – two wheelers, cars, auto rickshaws, buses and light goods carriers – till 31 December 2022.

Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami today launched the Electric Vehicle Policy 2019 in whcih it is said the State government will offer incubation services in the form of office space, common facilities and mentoring support to encourage start-ups in the EV sector.

The policy said building and construction laws will be amended to ensure the integration of charging infrastructure in the planning stage for all constructions and apartment in the cities.

“TANGEDCO will setup charging infrastructure on its own or through public private partnership models. Provisions to be ensured in all commercial buildings. Transition support for existing automobile manufacturers to adapt to the EV manufacturing system including a one-time reskilling allowance for the existing production line employees will also be provided,” the policy added.

Meanwhile, following opposition parties’ criticisms about Palaniswami’s foreign visits, it is said the State government is in the process of compiling a detailed report about the various MoUs signed by him during his trip.

Palaniswami who was on a 13-day foreign trip said as many as 41 MoUs were signed during my visit to England, America and Dubai.

“This will bring in investments to the tune of Rs 8,835 crore and will also help in the employment of 35,520 people,” he said on his arrival at the Chennai airport on 10 September.

However, the opposition parties continued to question the trip made by Palaniswami. DMK president M K Stalin said that his party will hold a felicitation meeting for the Chief Minister if Palaniswami publishes a detailed white paper about the investments brought into the state, jobs created and the industries setup under the AIADMK regime.

NT Bureau