Hat-trick win for Vijay CC in VAP trophy

Chennai: Vijay CC won the VA Parthasarathy Memorial Trophy (One-dayers) 2019-20 for the third consecutive time by defeating Sanmar Alwarpet CC by five runs in the final played Sunday at VB Nest, here.

Batting first, Vijay CC scored 252 for the loss of eight wickets with Pradosh Ranjan Paul scoring 85 off 122 balls and Dinesh Karthik 53 off 69 balls. Chasing the total, B Sai Sudarshan (52) and Vishal Vaidhya (71) scored half-centuries but it was not enough as Sanmar fell behind by five runs. Vice President, TNCA, T.J Srinivasa Raj, gave the trophies and awards at brief function after the match.

Result of final:

India Cements Vijay 252 for eight in 50 overs (Pradosh Ranjan Paul 85, K Dinesh Karthik 53 ,R. Suthesh two for 18, D Rahul two for 63, RS Jaganath Sinivas two for 56, U Mukilesh two for 27 beat Sanmar Alwarpet 247 in 49.2 overs (B Sai Sudharsan 52, K Vishal Vaidhya 71, R Sanjay Yadav 28, U Mukilesh 33, CV Varun three for 45, Pradosh Ranjan Paul two for 44)

Man of the Final : Pradosh Ranjan Paul (Vijay)

Player of the Tournament : R. Kavin (Alwarpet)

NT Bureau