Polls to 55 Rajya Sabha seats on 26 March

New Delhi: Elections to 55 Rajya Sabha seats falling vacant in April will be held on 26 March, the Election Commission announced today.

These seats from 17 States are falling vacant on different dates in April due to retirement of members. While notification for the biennial elections will be issued on 6 March, 13 March is the last date of filing nominations.

Counting will be held on the evening of 26 March, an hour after the conclusion of polls. Prominent among those retiring are NCP leader Sharad Pawar, Union Minister Ramdas Athawale (RPI-Athawale), Congress veteran Motilal Vora and former union minister Vijay Goel (BJP).